Many studies have proven that the use of seat belts by travelers can dramatically reduce the number of injuries and deaths occurring as a result of an auto accident. Atlanta car accidents are no different, and as such, the state of Georgia imposes seat belt laws on its motorists. Fortunately, these laws seem to have a positive impact. The Governor’s Office of Highway Safety reports that approximately 80% of drivers now wear seat belts when operating a motor vehicle.
What are the highlights of the Georgia seat belt laws designed to reduce injuries in Atlanta car crashes?
- Everyone over age 18 must wear a seat belt when driving or riding in the front seat of a vehicle.
- If a driver or passenger fails to wear a seat belt, he or she is subject to a $15 fine.
- All children aged 6 through 17 must wear a seat belt, regardless of whether they are sitting in the front or back of the vehicle.
- If a child is found to not be wearing a safety belt, the driver is subject to a $25 fine.
- All children under the age of 6 must sit in a child safety seat or booster seat designed for their age and weight.
- If a child under 6 is found to not be sitting in such a seat, the driver is subject to a $50 fine.
- Georgia police officers can pull any motorist over for failure to wear a seat belt, regardless of whether the driver was engaging in any other traffic offense at the time.
- Pickup trucks are not subject to Georgia’s seat belt laws, the only state in the country to allow for such an exemption.
For more information about Georgia driving laws, contact the Atlanta car accident attorney experts at the 404-513-5415 for a free consultation.
Post a comment
Post a Comment to "Georgia Seat Belt Laws Designed to Prevent Atlanta Car Crash Injuries"To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."