According to statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 2,597 people were killed in United States traffic accidents in December 2010. Of those, 775 deaths involved alcohol-impaired drivers.
Georgia's Driving Under the Influence Laws are complex. Georgia DUI injury attorney Shane Smith can sort through the intermingled laws that potentially create complications in a DUI case.
A 17-year-old Georgia student was arrested for underage consumption of alcohol after he drove a riding lawnmower into a neighbor's house. The arrested teen was driving the mower with a friend sitting on the hood. He was observed riding over a bush, jumping a curb and crashing into a rock pile after he had previously driven into the side of the neighbor's home.
According to the police report, the teen repeatedly cursed at the officer and began fighting when he was placed under arrest. He was charged with obstructing a police officer, disorderly conduct and underage alcohol consumption.
Georgia has a zero tolerance law for underage drinking and driving. Though the illegal BAC for drivers over 21 years old is 0.08 percent, drivers under 21 can be charged with DUI with a BAC of 0.02 percent. Teen drivers can be charged with DUI in a minor accident if a chemical test indicates that they have a small amount of alcohol in their system.
If you have questions about Georgia DUI laws, get the answers in Clayton County DUI injury attorney Shane Smith's book, I Was Hit By a Drunk Driver: What Do I Do Next? Contact the Law Offices of Shane Smith to schedule a free legal consultation.
Post a comment
Post a Comment to "Georgia Teen Charged with Minor Consumption of Alcohol"To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."