New laws took effect on January 1st, and Georgia drivers who speed will face stiffer fines.
On most Georgia roads, going 85 miles per hour or more will cost an additional $200 beyond the ticket for going over the speed limit. On two-lane roads, (those with one lane in each direction) one only needs to drive over 75 miles per hour to incur the extra fine.
The original ticket may not tell the driver about the additional state fine. After the driver receives the ticket, the State of Georgia will send a letter notifying the driver of the additional fine, which must be paid within 90 days. Drivers who do not pay will have their licenses suspended.
This law is designed to save lives. Speeding vehicles are more likely to be involved in accidents, and the risk of serious injury or death is higher when speeding is involved. Officials hope this law will put a stop to super-speeding and road racing.
Money collected from the fines will be used to fund trauma services.
If you or a family member has been involved in a collision with a speeding vehicle, you may need help getting compensation for your injuries. Call Atlanta car wreck attorney Shane Smith at 770-HURT-999 for a free consultation, or fill our contact form if you have any questions.
Our free book, 10 Mistakes That Can Ruin Your Georgia Wreck Case, can help you get started.
Category: Auto Accidents
There are no comments.
Post a comment
Post a Comment to "Speeding in Georgia to cost more in 2010"To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."