Georgia has a 25-50-25 minimum insurance requirement. This means you must have at least the following amounts of coverage:
$25,000 bodily injury coverage per person
$50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident involving 2 or more people
$25,000 property damage coverage per accident
In Georgia, drivers are not required to purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (UN/UIM) or personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. However, this coverage is a good idea as it protects you in the event that you are injured by an uninsured driver or a hit-and-run driver. Learn more in Atlanta car wreck lawyer Shane Smith's article, "Why Should I Buy Uninsured Motorist Insurance?"
Georgia follows a tort system. This means that you have the right to file a lawsuit against an insurance company in order to get compensation for damages that are not specifically addressed by the insurance policy, such as pain and suffering or lost wages.
If you have been injured in an Atlanta car crash, getting the insurance compensation you deserve can be a long frustrating process. An Atlanta auto accident attorney can help. He will be able to look over your car insurance policy and the other driver's insurance policy to determine what coverage is available for your injuries. To discuss your claim with an Atlanta accident lawyer, contact the Law Offices of Shane Smith and ask to schedule a free consultation.
Post a comment
Post a Comment to "Understanding Georgia Car Insurance Requirements"To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."