Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: (888) 927-6955
Phone: (770) 487-8999
Law Offices of Shane Smith

Contact Us

Get help now! Please fill out the quick contact form below for a fast and free case consultation. We will contact you within 24 hours!

What the Other Driver’s BAC Means in Your Drunk Driver Accident Claim


Blog Category:
1/1/2011
Carolyn Smith
Comments (0)

The main piece of evidence needed to charge a driver with DUI in Georgia is the Blood Alcohol Level (BAC). This percentage shows how much alcohol is concentrated in the driver's bloodstream and can be determined through chemical tests of blood, breath or urine. These tests are either conducted roadside with a portable breathalyzer or at the police station or hospital through a blood or urine sample. 

Under Georgia DUI laws, drivers are under an implied consent rule, which means they must submit to a BAC test or face up to 12 months' suspension of their driver’s license. In cases where a driver causes death or serious injury in an accident, he or she has no right of refusal.

When you are a victim involved in a serious or fatal accident with a suspected drunk driver, you need to be aware of how his or her BAC can impact your personal injury or wrongful death claim. This evidence may be used by your Georgia personal injury lawyer to help justify the claim that the other driver was negligent in safe driving practices and chose to drive while impaired. 

Claims where you have an actual BAC level to cite are often easier to handle, but the fact that the driver refused the test also can be of benefit to your case. In either situation, it may require the skill and knowledge of a lawyer to use the BAC evidence in your claim to establish negligence or prove fault for your accident and injuries.

Georgia drunk driving laws go beyond establishing limits for how high a person’s BAC can be before he or she is considered intoxicated. With the many parts of Georgia DUI laws that can impact your personal injury claim, it’s best to have an experienced Georgia personal injury lawyer help you settle your case. 

Contact a Georgia Personal Injury Lawyer

After a serious or fatal car accident you and your family may be dealing with the grief of serious injury, loss of a loved one, and financial burdens. During this difficult time it’s easy to get frustrated with your situation – you didn’t deserve to suffer due to the negligence of another!

Georgia DUI laws can be valuable evidence in a car accident claim when you suspect the crash was caused by a drunk driver. At The Law Offices of Shane Smith we help accident victims seek justice after they’ve suffered injury and losses due to car accidents caused by drunk drivers. Face the DUI facts – one of the top cases of negligence in causing car accidents is drunk drivers!

Before filing your injury claim, request a copy of our FREE eBooks, I Was Hit By a Drunk Driver: What Do I Do Next? and 10 Mistakes That Can Ruin Your Georgia Wreck Case. Our guides contain valuable information on how to handle filing a claim for serious injuries or wrongful death caused by a negligent driver. When you’re ready to get started on your claim, contact us to set up a FREE consultation – 1-770-487-8999.



Category: DUI Victims

Shane Smith
Advocate for the Seriously Injured in Georgia

There are no comments.

Post a comment

Post a Comment to "What the Other Driver’s BAC Means in Your Drunk Driver Accident Claim"

To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."

Name:*

Email:* (will not be published)

Message:*

Notify me of follow-up comments via email.