Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: (888) 927-6955
Phone: (770) 487-8999
Law Offices of Shane Smith

Contact Us

Get help now! Please fill out the quick contact form below for a fast and free case consultation. We will contact you within 24 hours!

Clayton County Lawyer Helps Impaired Driving Accident Victims

Almost 30 people in the United States die every day in automobile accidents that involve an alcohol-impaired driver according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Consulting a Clayton County attorney after a car accident involving an impaired driver increases a victim's ability to receive a reasonable settlement. If you have been injured in an automobile accident involving an impaired driver in Clayton County you should discuss your case with a car accident attorney at the Law Offices of Shane Smith.

 

In 2010, nearly one-third of all traffic-related deaths in the United States occurred in alcohol-impaired driving crashes. There were 298 alcohol-impaired Georgia driving fatalities in 2010. Impaired driving is the subject of a major safety campaign to lower the number of vehicle accident injuries caused by reckless driving.

 

Penalties for drivers apprehended while under the influence of alcohol or drugs vary depending on the driver's number of offenses. Judges also have some flexibility in sentencing those who are found guilty of driving under the influence.

 

Penalties for a first offense

 

First-time penalties and fines are intended to punish the offender but are more lenient than subsequent offenses.

 

  • Possible jail time of up to one year;
  • Fine between $300-$1,000;
  • License suspension up to one year;
  • Community service of 40 hours;
  • License reinstatement fee of $210.

 

Penalties for a second offense within five years of the initial offense

 

Penalties and fines for a second impaired driving offense committed within five years are more punitive.

  • Mandatory jail sentence (minimum two days, can be sentenced to 90 days to one year);
  • Fine between $600-$1,000;
  • License suspension of three years;
  • Community service penalty of at least 240 hours;
  • License reinstatement fee of $210.
  • Mandatory clinical evaluation; Offender must complete a substance abuse treatment program at his expense if the evaluation determines that substance abuse is a problem.

 

Penalties for a third offense within five years of the second offense

 

Drivers who are charged with impaired driving again within five years of the second offense are classified as habitual violators. Penalties for habitual violators are intended to prevent the offender from driving until he is rehabilitated.

 

  • Mandatory jail sentence (minimum 15 days);
  • Fine between $1,000-$5,000;
  • Loss of license for five years;
  • Community service penalty of at least 240 hours;
  • Publication of violator's name, photo and address in the local newspaper at the violator's expense;
  • Classification as a habitual violator;
  • License plates from the offender's vehicle are seized;
  • Mandatory clinical evaluation; Offender must complete a substance abuse treatment program at his expense if the evaluation determines that substance abuse is a problem.

 

If you have been involved in a car accident caused by an impaired driver please contact an auto accident lawyer at the Law Offices of Shane Smith. We can assist you in every stage of your case.


Shane Smith
Advocate for the Seriously Injured in Georgia