Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: (888) 927-6955
Phone: (770) 487-8999
Law Offices of Shane Smith

Contact Us

Get help now! Please fill out the quick contact form below for a fast and free case consultation. We will contact you within 24 hours!

Federal Teen Driving Regulations Established

Distracted driving accidents killed 3,092 people in 2010 according to the U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT). Additionally, it is estimated that 18 percent of auto accidents that year involved distracted drivers.

 

Consulting a Clayton County attorney after an auto accident involving a distracted driver enhances a victim's ability to receive a reasonable settlement. If you have been injured in an automobile accident involving a distracted driver in Clayton County you should discuss your case with an auto accident attorney at the Law Offices of Shane Smith.

 

Congress established uniform graduated driver's license regulations as part of the 2012 Transportation Reauthorization bill. The regulations had been the centerpiece of 2011 legislation called the Safe Teen and Novice Driver Uniform Protection Act (STANDUP) that was approved in the Senate but died in the House of Representatives.

 

Graduated driver's licenses were already the standard in Georgia and many other states when the new regulation was passed. They have proven to reduce the risk of auto accidents among new drivers by progressively allowing more driving privileges to young drivers. Only one state had no graduated license program in place when the federal regulation was passed; other states had some portion of the new regulation.

 

The federal regulation established graduated driver's license systems with minimum requirements:

  • A three-stage licensing process, from learner's permit to intermediate to full, non-restricted driver's license;
  • Restrictions on night driving during the intermediate stage;
  • Passenger restrictions during learner's permit and intermediate stages. No more than one non-family member under the age of 21 may travel with a learning teenage driver, unless a licensed driver over the age of 21 is in the vehicle;
  • Prohibited non-emergency use of cell phones and other communication devices, including text messaging during the learner's permit and intermediate stages;
  • Intermediate license issued no earlier than age 16 and non-restricted drivers licenses to be issued at age 18;
  • Learner’s permit holding period of at least six months and intermediate stage of at least six months;
  • At least 30 hours of driving supervised by a licensed driver 21 years old or older;
  • Automatic delay of full licensure if a permit holder commits an offense such as a DUI, misrepresentation of age, reckless driving, driving without a seat belt or speeding.

 

 

If you or someone you know has been hurt by a distracted driver, meet with a Clayton County auto accident lawyer at the Law Offices of Shane Smith.


Shane Smith
Advocate for the Seriously Injured in Georgia