Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: (888) 927-6955
Phone: (770) 487-8999
Law Offices of Shane Smith

Contact Us

Get help now! Please fill out the quick contact form below for a fast and free case consultation. We will contact you within 24 hours!

Georgia Bicycle Laws

Georgia Pedestrian Accident Lawyer Shane Smith Discusses State Laws Pertaining to Bicyclists’ Rights

According to the Atlanta Bicycle Coalition, there are some things for bicyclists to keep in mind when riding the roads with cars. Some highlights that can contribute to a vehicle-on-bike accident include:

  • Motor vehicle operators are not used to individuals on bicycles going at moderate speeds (up to 15 miles per hour) – they are more naturally focused on pedestrians on foot at normal walking speed.
  • There are many distractions that either block the drivers’ view of the bicyclist including traffic signs and vegetation.
  • Depending on the intersection itself and the traffic signals and potential sight hazards, cars may not see bicyclists in time to avert a car-on bike collision where a car is turning and the bicyclist is moving forward, creating the potential for a collision.

If you have sustained serious injuries or have lost a family member due to the negligence of an at-fault driver, a personal injury claim may exist. You are advised to speak with a Georgia pedestrian accident attorney at the Law Offices of Shane Smith. 

From the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety (GOHS) and the Atlanta Bicycle Coalition the Georgia legislature passed SB 196 in 2009 to update the section of the law that deals with vehicular an traffic law (Title 40). The amendment to the law permitted minors up to an including those 12 years old to ride exclusively on the sidewalks. 

The law also stiffens the financial penalties and incarceration penalties for drivers who severely injure pedestrians and bicyclists. When a motor vehicle operator is found guilty of a tight-of-way violation with a bicyclist, or motorcyclist or pedestrian, first time offenders must pay a $250 fine and second time offenders must pay $500 to $1,000 and may have to serve 10 days to one year behind bars.

While the State of Georgia provides victims with criminal justice against responsible parties, a Gwinnett County pedestrian accident lawyer can provide civil justice against the at-fault parties. It is also wise to speak with a Lilburn pedestrian accident attorney because the attorney helps look at the facts and determines if a personal injury claim exists. Call our law offices today at (770) 487-8999.  


Shane Smith
Advocate for the Seriously Injured in Georgia