According to statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 2,597 people were killed in United States traffic accidents in December 2010. Of those, 775 deaths involved alcohol-impaired drivers.
Georgia's Driving Under the Influence Laws are complex. Georgia DUI injury attorney Shane Smith can sort through the intermingled laws that potentially create complications in a DUI case.
The Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program provides financial assistance to violent crime victims including DUI auto accident victims. The program, administered by the Georgia Criminal Justice Coordinating Council can compensate for medical bills, psychological counseling, lost wages, crime scene clean-up and funeral expenses.
Georgia DUI accident victims may qualify for assistance if all of the following are true:
- The victim died or suffered a serious physical injury during the accident.
- The victim did not cause the Georgia drunk driving accident.
- The accident was reported to the police within 72 hours of the accident.
- The victim tried all other compensation options, including auto and health insurance policies for the victim and the accused.
- The program application is made within one year of the accident, unless there is a good reason to wait longer. In such a case, application must be made within three years of the accident.
Compensation to Georgia DUI victims may include:
- Up to $15,000 for medical and dental expenses
- Up to $3,000 for mental health services
- Up to $3,000 for funeral and burial expenses
- Up to $10,000 for lost wages and other economic support
The maximum compensation per victim is $25,000.
If you have questions about Georgia DUI laws, get the answers in Clayton County DUI injury attorney Shane Smith's book, I Was Hit By a Drunk Driver: What Do I Do Next? Contact the Law Offices of Shane Smith to schedule a free legal consultation.