Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: (888) 927-6955
Phone: (770) 487-8999
Law Offices of Shane Smith

Contact Us

Get help now! Please fill out the quick contact form below for a fast and free case consultation. We will contact you within 24 hours!

Safe Driving for Georgia Teenagers

Motor vehicle accidents are the number one cause of death for teenagers ages 15-20 in the United States, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).  The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) reports that approximately 350,000 teenagers are injured and around 3,500 are killed each year in auto accidents across the nation.  These numbers are so high, in part, because novice drivers have a higher risk of causing accidents because of their failure to adjust their driving or react quickly to road hazards.  To try to increase teen driving safety and prevent accidents, the state of Georgia enacted the Teenage & Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA).  If a teenage driver violates TADRA and causes an accident, they should be found negligent and should compensate victims for any resulting injuries.  If you have been in an accident, an experienced Fayette County auto accident attorney will help you get properly reimbursed for your injuries and losses.

 

TADRA sets out driving restrictions for teenagers under the law, and sets out a three step process for teenagers to get full driving privileges.  The three steps are as follows:

 

  1. Instructional Permit: Can be obtained by 15 year-olds after receiving a passing score on a written evaluation, and allows them to drive with a passenger over the age of 21 with a Class C license (full license).
  2. Intermediate license (Class D): Teenagers 16-18 may receive a Class D license if they have had a permit for 12 months and complete a driving test.  16 year-olds must further attend a driving education course and have 40 hours of supervised driving experience.  A Class D license prohibits driving between the hours of midnight at 6:00 a.m. and limits who can be in the car with the ten driver.  Class C license holders are also required to attend school regularly and may not violate certain criminal laws.
  3. Full license: Must be 18 years old with no major traffic violations in the last year.

 

If teenage drivers fail to abide by any of these license restrictions or limitations and cause an accident, they should be responsible for their actions.  If you have been injured, call an auto accident lawyer at the Law Offices of Shane Smith today at (770) 487-8999.


Shane Smith
Advocate for the Seriously Injured in Georgia