Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: (888) 927-6955
Phone: (770) 487-8999
Law Offices of Shane Smith

Contact Us

Get help now! Please fill out the quick contact form below for a fast and free case consultation. We will contact you within 24 hours!

UGA Student Arrested for Underage DUI after Driving with Lights Off, Using Fake ID

According to statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 2,597 people were killed in United States traffic accidents in December 2010. Of those, 775 deaths involved alcohol-impaired drivers. A 2006 study by the NHTSA estimated that there is one drunk driving fatality in the United States every 30 minutes.

 

Georgia's Driving Under the Influence Laws are complex. Georgia DUI injury attorney Shane Smith can sort through the intermingled laws that potentially create complications in a DUI case.

 

Georgia has a zero tolerance law for underage drinking and driving. Though the illegal blood alcohol content (BAC) for drivers over 21 years old is 0.08 percent, drivers under 21 can be charged with DUI with a BAC of 0.02 percent. Teen drivers can be charged with DUI in a minor accident if a chemical test indicates that they have a small amount of alcohol in their system. 
 

A University of Georgia student who was pulled over by university police for driving without her headlights on at 1:00 a.m. was arrested for underage DUI after failing field sobriety tests. According to the police report the driver was observed wearing a bracelet that usually indicates a person is over 21 years old and legal to be served alcohol. The student denied drinking that night and then said she had one drink. The officer observed the driver pull out a license from another state and then return it to her purse. Her Georgia license indicated that she was 20 years old. A later search of her purse identified a fake I.D. from another state.

 

The officer administered a field sobriety test and indicated that the driver failed. She took a Breathalyzer test at the scene and registered 0.06 percent blood alcohol concentration (BAC), then tested two more times at the police station where she registered 0.055 percent and 0.056 percent. She was cited for driving without headlights, underage possession or consumption of alcohol and underage DUI.

 

If you have questions about Georgia DUI laws, get the answers in Clayton County DUI injury attorney Shane Smith's book, I Was Hit By a Drunk Driver: What Do I Do Next? Contact the Law Offices of Shane Smith to schedule a free legal consultation.


Shane Smith
Advocate for the Seriously Injured in Georgia