According to statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 2,597 people were killed in United States traffic accidents in December 2010. Of those, 775 deaths involved alcohol-impaired drivers. A 2006 study by the NHTSA estimated that there is one drunk driving fatality in the United States every 30 minutes.
Georgia's Driving Under the Influence Laws are complex. Georgia DUI injury attorney Shane Smith can sort through the intermingled laws that potentially create complications in a DUI case.
Georgia has a zero tolerance law for underage drinking and driving. Though the illegal blood alcohol content (BAC) for drivers over 21 years old is 0.08 percent, drivers under 21 can be charged with DUI with a BAC of 0.02 percent. Teen drivers can be charged with DUI in a minor accident if a chemical test indicates that they have a small amount of alcohol in their system.
The University of Georgia Police Department announced an increase patrol presence with the intention of reducing underage drinking. Many student on the UGA campus are not 21 years old and therefore are not legally old enough to drink.
The Governor's Office of Highway Safety expressed concern at the alcohol use on campus and encouraged the increased attention. The UGA police chief has seen an increase in students' blood alcohol concentration (BAC) from the "high teens" to 0.30 percent. The legal BAC for Georgia students under 21 years old is less than 0.02 percent. Those who are 21 years and older can have a BAC of less than 0.08 percent. The police chief attributed the higher BACs to students beginning drinking while in high school and developing a tolerance.
According to university statistics, UGA police have made 96 arrests for underage drinking in 2013; 34 offenders were visitors who were underage and in possession of alcohol. In 2012, 70 of the 237 people arrested for underage possession arrests were visitors, and 82 of the 234 arrests in 2011 involved visitors.
If you have questions about Georgia DUI laws, get the answers in Clayton County DUI injury attorney Shane Smith's book, I Was Hit By a Drunk Driver: What Do I Do Next? Contact the Law Offices of Shane Smith to schedule a free legal consultation.