Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: (888) 927-6955
Phone: (770) 487-8999
Law Offices of Shane Smith

Contact Us

Get help now! Please fill out the quick contact form below for a fast and free case consultation. We will contact you within 24 hours!

Woolsey Accident Attorney, Shane Smith, Responds to the Most Frequent Questions on What to do After a Georgia Auto Accident.

My Car in Woolsey Has Just Been Hit I What Do I Do Now? I Auto Accident Attorney Shane Smith Shares Tips

Being the victim of a car accident is very traumatic. An accident can happen at any time and you need to be prepared to know what you need to do after a Fayette County auto accident happens. What you do and don’t do after an accident, at the scene and after you leave the scene, can mean the difference between getting a settlement that is unfair and one that makes sure justice is served.

Along with making your case as strong as possible and maximizing your potential damages, Georgia State law requires people involved in auto accidents to report as much information as possible to authorities.

  • According to O.C.G.A. §40-6-273, Jonesboro auto accidents that result in bodily injury, death or even as little as $500 in property damage, must be reported to the police.
  • All drivers are required to stay at the scene of the accident. O.C.G.A. § 40-6-270 mandates that any Fayette County auto accident that results in property damage, bodily injury or death, drivers must disclose their name, address, and vehicle registration number to authorities and to the other drivers  upon request and give any reasonable and necessary assistance to any injured person needing medical care from Georgia auto accident injuries.

You may want to move your vehicle based on your own desire to not obstruct traffic or at the request of the other vehicle operators at the scene of the accident. Depending on the circumstances of the Jonesboro accident, it may or may not be permitted by Georgia State law:

  • If you are involved in a Clayton County auto accident that has left you or another party injured or with a fatal injury, according to O.C.G.A. § 40-6-275(g), the vehicle should not be moved until law enforcement and emergency medical professionals have properly assessed the situation and have completed their investigation of the auto accident.

Every single Jonesboro auto accident that is reported to local authorities is required to supply proof of insurance to all parties that have sustained bodily injury from the Georgia auto accident. O.C.G.A. § 406-273.1 mandates the following information must be exchanged amongst all parties with injuries:

  • The name and address of the owner and operator of the car
  • The motor vehicle’s license number
  • Contact information and the insurance policy number from the insurance company

Following these simple and effective recommendations if you are ever involved in a Clayton County car accident will enable you and your auto accident attorney to gather as much information as possible about the responsibility parties. Having your accident and injuries documented and make your auto accident claim easier to pursue. Your auto accident attorney at the Law Offices of Shane Smith will be able to more efficiently determine the cause of the accident, your sustained injuries and what else needs to be determined from your free legal consultation. Please call (888) 927-6955 to schedule your appointment with an auto accident attorney today.


Shane Smith
Advocate for the Seriously Injured in Georgia