Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: (888) 927-6955
Phone: (770) 487-8999
Law Offices of Shane Smith

Contact Us

Get help now! Please fill out the quick contact form below for a fast and free case consultation. We will contact you within 24 hours!

How a Personal Injury Attorney Uses Georgia Auto Insurance Laws (Part A)

Georgia auto insurance laws define the minimum amounts of auto insurance you must carry, but few residents realize just how important this coverage can be when you are dealing with damages from a serious truck accident. It is not only your own personal auto insurance limits that you need to be aware of when filing an injury claim, but also those of the truck driver who caused your accident. 

While your own auto insurance policy may be your primary source of compensation for your injuries and losses, an Atlanta personal injury attorney may be able to help you seek additional compensation. 

Minimum Insurance Coverage under Georgia Auto Insurance Laws 

Every state has laws establishing the minimum insurance coverage limits that a driver must carry to operate a vehicle legally. For the state of Georgia, the minimum auto insurance limits are: 

    •       $25,000 in Bodily Injury Liability per person;

    •       $50,000 in Bodily Injury Liability per accident; and

    •       $25,000 in Property Damage Liability per accident. 

There are additional types of insurance coverage a driver may carry, such as physical damage coverage and uninsured motorist coverage. While this additional coverage is not required by Georgia auto insurance laws, ask a personal injury attorney and he or she most likely will tell you how important these additional options are to an injury claim settlement. 

Georgia Auto Insurance Laws for Commercial Trucks 

Commercial trucks such as tractor-trailers, semi trucks, and 18-wheelers must also carry the minimum required insurance as set by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). Trucks transporting non-hazardous materials must maintain a minimum $750,000 in liability insurance, if the truck is heavier than 10,001 pounds and travels interstate. For trucks that transport hazardous materials weighing less than 10,000 pounds, they must carry $1 million in liability insurance and $5 million for trucks heavier than 10,001 pounds. 

A motor carrier’s failure to maintain the required minimum insurance coverage can become a major complication when filing a personal injury claim after an accident with one of their trucks. Many questions will arise, such as who is liable for the accident, which insurance companies cover your damages, and how much compensation you can seek in your insurance claim. 

Continue reading to learn more about how insurance companies can factor into the payment of your injury settlement. An Atlanta personal injury attorney can also help protect you from losing out on your rightful compensation by calling 1-770-487-8999. 

Continue to Next Page >>


Shane Smith
Advocate for the Seriously Injured in Georgia