According to statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 2,597 people were killed in United States traffic accidents in December 2010. Of those, 775 deaths involved alcohol-impaired drivers.
Georgia's Driving Under the Influence Laws are complex. Georgia DUI injury attorney Shane Smith can sort through the intermingled laws that potentially create complications in a DUI case.
According to a survey conducted by Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD), 23 percent of teen drivers admit to driving while under the influence of either alcohol or drugs. Nearly half of the teens who admitted to drinking and driving said they did not think that alcohol, marijuana or other drugs affected their ability to drive safely. Over 10 percent of teens surveyed admitted to driving under the influence of alcohol in the past three months. Additionally, over 90 percent of the teens said their schools had programs or policies in place to deter illegal behavior, including the use of security guards or breathalyzers at school functions.
Other studies indicate that up to 90 percent of teens consider themselves "safe" or "cautious" drivers.
Georgia has a zero tolerance law for underage drinking and driving. Though the illegal blood alcohol content (BAC) for drivers over 21 years old is 0.08 percent, drivers under 21 can be charged with DUI with a BAC of 0.02 percent. Teen drivers can be charged with DUI in a minor accident if a chemical test indicates that they have a small amount of alcohol in their system.
If you have questions about Georgia DUI laws, get the answers in Clayton County DUI injury attorney Shane Smith's book, I Was Hit By a Drunk Driver: What Do I Do Next? Contact the Law Offices of Shane Smith to schedule a free legal consultation.