Underinsured or uninsured motorist coverage can help if you are involved in an accident with a driver who does not have adequate insurance, any insurance or who leaves the scene. If you are considering purchasing uninsured motorist coverage, you may wonder how much coverage is enough.

Deciding How Much Uninsured Motorist Coverage to Purchase

The minimum insurance required by Georgia law is only $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident, and a large percentage of motorists only purchase the minimum. The Insurance Research Council estimates one in seven motorists is an uninsured driver.

Deciding on how much uninsured motorist coverage to add to your policy depends on other factors in your life. If you are unemployed, do not have medical insurance or simply want to feel better protected, adding a higher amount than the minimum policy limit may be in your best interest.

If you are seriously injured in an accident, $25,000 in coverage will not be enough. And if you are involved in a hit and run accident or an accident with one of the many uninsured drivers, you will depend entirely on your own coverage for bills. Depending on the severity of your injuries, bills could be quite high, and in some cases may even top $100,000. Keep this in mind when choosing your coverage.

To find answers to questions about your insurance coverage, accident claims and more, contact an Atlanta personal injury attorney. For a free consultation with an injury attorney, contact The Law Offices of Shane Smith. Call us today at: (888) 927-6955.

Shane Smith
Advocate for the Seriously Injured in Georgia
Be the first to comment!
Post a Comment

Contact Us

Before you sign any documents, we urge you to contact our legal team using this short form. We will be in touch within 24 hours to discuss your case.