A PeachtreeCitypersonal injury lawyer can explain the difference between primary and secondary seat belt laws. Many laws vary from state to state, and seat belt laws are no different. Each state has laws pertaining to when and where passengers must buckle up, as well as seat belt rules pertaining to the ages of individuals. How to primary and secondary laws come into play?
Primary seat belt laws allow police officers to issue citations to drivers or passengers if they are not wearing their seat belts, even if they are not committing any other offense. When seat belt laws are secondary, the police officer cannot issue a citation unless the driver or passenger is accused of another offense. In this case, the police officer cannot pull over the vehicle and issue a citation solely based on the fact that a seat belt was not worn.
Of the 50 states, 32 have primary seat belt laws, including Georgia. Georgia seat belt laws cover passengers between the ages of 6 and 17 sitting in any seat of the vehicle. Those ages 18 and older are covered when sitting in the front seat only. The maximum fine for the first offense is $15. Additional fees and court costs are not added on, unlike states such as California, Connecticut, and North Carolina, where more than $100 in court fees may be tacked on for a first offense.
Only 17 states have secondary seat belt laws.Georgiais not one of them. All states have either a primary or secondary seat belt law for adults except forNew Hampshire. It has a primary law that only covers those in the vehicle who are minors under the age of 18.
If you were involved in a car accident, your compensation could be affected by seat belt laws. Contact a PeachtreeCitypersonal injury lawyer from the Law Offices of Shane Smith. Their lawyers will give your case the attention it deserves. Call them today at 1-404-513-5415 and ask about their free booklet, 10 Mistakes That Can Ruin Your Georgia Car Wreck Case.