The following is a checklist that can help determine if a post-accident truck driver test is required:
- the accident involved a driver who requires a commercial driver’s license (CDL);
- as a result of the accident, within 8 hours of it occurring, there was a fatality;
- or a fatality didn’t occur within 8 hours but did within 32 hours of the accident;
- as a result of the accident, an injury occurred that required medical care away from the scene;
- at least one of the vehicles was damaged enough to require towing; and
- the truck driver was cited.
Although this checklist can help determine if testing is required, the type of test that must be administered will vary. For instance, if a fatality occurred after an 8-hour time period, the driver would not be able to submit to an alcohol test.
There are other variables that may impact the necessity of testing. To learn more about the laws surrounding a post-accident truck driver test, you should consult a Georgia truck accident lawyer.
After You Have Been Injured in a Georgia Truck Accident
When you or someone you love has sustained serious injuries caused by someone else’s negligence in a Georgiatruck accident, you should know what your rights are. The law offices of Shane Smith can provide you with valuable tips on how to protect your case, free of charge including: 10 Mistakes That Can Ruin Your Georgia Wreck Case and Property Damage Guide for Georgia. Contact our offices at 1-770-HURT-999 (1-770-487-8999).