What can you do if you are injured in a Georgia drunk driving car crash, the drunk driver is uninsured, and there is no dram shop liability? Are you stuck paying your own medical bills?
The Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program is administered by the Criminal Justice Coordinating Council. The purpose of the program is to help victims of crimes and their families by providing financial assistance with medical bills, mental health counseling, funeral expenses, loss of earnings and crime scene clean-up.
Georgia DUI victims and their families may qualify for assistance from the Crime Victims Compensation Program if they meet the following criteria:
- The victim died or suffered a bodily injury from the Georgia drunk driving accident.
- The victim did not cause the accident.
- The Georgia DUI car crash was reported to the police.
- The victim has exhausted all other options for compensation, including his own health insurance and the drunk driver’s insurance policy.
- The application is made within one year after the accident. It can be made within three years if there is a good reason.
Benefits available to Georgia DUI victims include:
- Coverage of medical or dental expenses up to $15,000
- Coverage of mental health and counseling expenses up to $3,000
- Coverage of funeral and burial expenses up to $3,000
- Economic support up to $10,000
To apply for benefits from the Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program, visit the Criminal Justice Coordinating Council website at http://cjcc.ga.gov/00/channel_title/0,2094,43676881_169285446,00.html. To learn more about other options for compensation after a Georgia DUI accident, download a free copy of I Was Hit By A Drunk Driver: What Do I Do Next? or contact the Law Offices of Shane Smith at 866-979-1629.