According to statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 2,597 people were killed in United States traffic accidents in December 2010. Of those, 775 deaths involved alcohol-impaired drivers.
DUI offenders are gender-neutral; the number of female drivers arrested for DUI increased 36 percent in the last decade according to a study published by The Century Council and the Traffic Injury Research Foundation. The study stated that though men are most often DUI offenders, women offenders increased 29 percent from 1997 to 2007.
Georgia's Driving Under the Influence Laws are nuanced and complex. This is why it is important to consult Georgia DUI injury attorney Shane Smith. There are many intermingled laws that create many potential complications in a DUI case.
A driver who is charged with his first Georgia is likely facing:
- Loss of the driver's license/privilege to drive in Georgia;
- Mandatory jail time;
- Court-ordered substance abuse evaluations and treatment, if recommended;
- Fines and surcharges;
- Probation between 1 - 2 years.
A DUI charge in Georgia is a misdemeanor. Under Georgia's new DUI laws an offender may face felony charges if he has had multiple DUI offenses. An offender's Georgia criminal record likely will not be expunged (eliminated) if he pleads guilty or nolo contendre (no contest). It is essential to have a Clayton County DUI accident attorney to maneuver through the Georgia criminal courts.
If you have questions about Georgia DUI laws, get the answers in Clayton County DUI injury attorney Shane Smith's book, I Was Hit By a Drunk Driver: What Do I Do Next? If you would like to discuss your case with a Georgia drunk-driving victim attorney, contact the Law Offices of Shane Smith at 888-927-6955 and ask to schedule a free legal consultation.