Distracted Driving is a Broad & Undefined Term I Georgia Distracted Driving Laws Explained by Lilburn Auto Accident Attorney
You may have heard about distracted driving, but don’t know what it is. Distracted driving is a broadly used term that describes a wide variety of behaviors used by anyone who operates a passenger vehicle, truck, bus, etc.
What Exactly is Distracted Driving?
Distracted driving is any activity that takes away the attention of the driver through visual, concentration or manual means.
What are Examples of Distracted Driving?
Distracted driving comes in many forms. Some examples include, but are not limited to:
- Talking on a cellphone (dialing and the talking itself)
- Texting while driving (typing and reading)
- Adjusting the radio
- Eating while driving
These types of behaviors drivers do while driving not only put themselves at risk of being involved in an auto accident, it also puts innocent drivers who are paying attention, looking out for other distractions, including distracted drivers.
If you or a family member has been involved in a car crash due to the negligence and/or recklessness of a distracted driver, you may be entitled to seek damages for your loss. Based on the severity of the physical and emotional injuries sustained from the accident and any related losses (pain and suffering, lost wages, mental anguish, etc.) you maybe be able to file a personal injury claim. The only way to accurately assess your auto accident circumstances is to speak with a Gwinnett County auto accident attorney to determine the at-fault party, what damages you have sustained and what your legal rights are. Call (770) 487-8999 to speak with a Lilburn car accident attorney at the Law Offices of Shane Smith today!
How does Georgia Address Distracted Driving?
Georgia takes drivers’ safety seriously and has laws in place to protect them from distracted drivers. Current law has proscribed the follow safety measures for drivers throughout Georgia:
- All drivers are prohibited from texting while driving. Violations of this law are subject to fines of $150 per violation.
- Drivers under 18 years of age are prohibited from using their cell phone, in-hand or hands-free. Violators of this statute are subject to fines of $150 per occurrence.
- Bus drivers carrying passengers are prohibited from talking on their cell phones.
Georgia does not have any tolerance for distracted driving and assess civil penalties to back it up. Even though there are civil and criminal penalties to punish negligent and reckless drivers who do violate the law and cause people harm, innocent people still become injured from this problem. If you have been injured or have had a family member that has sustained severe injuries due to a distracted driver, you may have a personal injury claim. Based on how and who caused the accident what types of damages you have sustained you may be entitled to seek financial justice. Don’t wait any longer – call a Gwinnett County car accident attorney to schedule a free legal consultation today at (888) 927-6955.