According to statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 2,597 people were killed in United States traffic accidents in December 2010. Of those, 775 deaths involved alcohol-impaired drivers. However, the percentage of people killed by drunk drivers decreased steadily between 1982 and the mid-1990s when state and local governments started tracking drunk driving arrests.
Georgia's Driving Under the Influence Laws are complex. Clayton County DUI injury attorney Shane Smith can sort through the intermingled laws that potentially create complications in a DUI case.
Georgia drivers who have a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) over 0.08 percent are responsible for a litany of fines and fees that increase frequently. These costs could be a contributing factor to the decrease of DUI fatalities. Among the charges are:
- Bail: $150 - $2,500; This varies according to the number of prior criminal offenses the driver had as well as how high the BAC was at the time of the accident;
- Insurance: $3,000+; Insurance premiums dramatically increase following DUI offenses and remain at higher rates for as long as five years. Insurance companies consider DUI offenders to be "high risks" and will immediately increase rates no matter how clean the driver's prior record may have been.
- Towing: $100 - $300 and impound/storage fees; Impound fees begin accruing on the day the vehicle is towed. Some cities will auction a car if the owner does not pay the towing and impound fees within 30 days.
- Alcohol Evaluation: $100 - $400; Many courts require the offender to be evaluated to determine if there is a treatable addiction.
- Alcohol Education Courses and Addiction Treatment: $500 - $5,000; This may be mandated by the court and the offender will be unable to reinstate his license until he can prove that he successful completed courses or received treatment.
- Driver's License Reinstatement: $500 - $700; State-certified risk reduction programs cost $287. Upon completion of the program the offender can apply to reinstate his license for a fee ranging from $200 - $425.
- Legal Fees: $1,000+
If you have questions about Georgia DUI laws, get the answers in Clayton County DUI injury attorney Shane Smith's book, I Was Hit By a Drunk Driver: What Do I Do Next? Contact the Law Offices of Shane Smith to schedule a free legal consultation.