Distracted driving accidents killed 3,328 people in 2012 according to the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Data show that drivers under age 20 are among the highest risk group.
Consulting a Clayton County attorney after an auto accident involving a distracted driver enhances a victim's ability to receive a reasonable settlement. If you have been injured in an automobile accident involving a distracted driver in Clayton County you should discuss your case with an auto accident attorney at the Law Offices of Shane Smith.
According to the CDC, the three types of distracted driving can cause drivers to "take their eyes off the road, take their hands off the wheel or take their mind off driving." Clinically, the distracted driving types are visual, manual and cognitive distractions. Examples include drivers fixing their hair, talking on the phone or texting while driving.
Georgia law enforcement departments participated in educational efforts during April, Distracted Driving Awareness month. Included was increased enforcement of existing laws as part of the national "U Drive. U Text. U Pay" campaign. Georgia's effort included advertising and media outreach to create more public awareness about the dangers of texting and driving.
Georgia law enforcement called attention to three distracted driving statutes:
O.C.G.A. § 40-6-241: Distracted Driving
A driver shall exercise due care in operating a motor vehicle on the highways of this state and shall not engage in any actions which shall distract such driver from the safe operation of such vehicle, provided that the proper use of a radio, citizens band radio or mobile telephone shall not be a violation of this code section.
O.C.G.A. § 40-6-241.1: Cell phone Use Prohibited for certain drivers (under 18 years of age)
Except in a driver emergency, no person who has an instruction permit or a Class D license and is under 18 years of age shall operate a motor vehicle on any public road or highway of this state while engaging in a wireless communication using a wireless telecommunications device.
Engaging in a wireless communication means the act of participating in any of the following: Talking, writing, sending or reading a text-based communication, or listening on a wireless telecommunications device.
O.C.G.A. § 40-6-241.2: Texting Prohibited (over 18 years)
No person who is 18 years of age or older or who has a Class C license shall operate a motor vehicle on any public road or highway of this state while using a wireless telecommunications device to write, send, or read any text based communication, including but not limited to a text message, instant message, e-mail, or Internet data.
If you or someone you know has been hurt by a distracted driver, meet with a Clayton County auto accident lawyer at the Law Offices of Shane Smith.