According to statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 2,597 people were killed in United States traffic accidents in December 2010. Of those, 775 deaths involved alcohol-impaired drivers. A 2006 study by the NHTSA estimated that there is one drunk driving fatality in the United States every 30 minutes.
Georgia's Driving Under the Influence Laws are complex. Georgia DUI injury attorney Shane Smith can sort through the intermingled laws that potentially create complications in a DUI case.
Georgia has a zero tolerance law for underage drinking and driving. Though the illegal blood alcohol content (BAC) for drivers over 21 years old is 0.08 percent, drivers under 21 can be charged with DUI with a BAC of 0.02 percent. Teen drivers can be charged with DUI in a minor accident if a chemical test indicates that they have a small amount of alcohol in their system.
A University of Georgia student was recently arrested on drunk driving charges in the early morning hours on a weekend. The student was stopped by police after she allegedly rolled through a stop sign.
According to the police report an officer detected the smell of alcohol on the student's breath. She claimed that she had just left the Waffle House, a restaurant that does not serve alcohol. The student also said that she attended a concert before going to the restaurant. She was administered a field sobriety test and subsequently was arrested. The student allegedly had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.10 percent, well above the 0.08 adult intoxication BAC.
Because she is only 20 years of age, the UGA student was charged with underage DUI.
If you have questions about Georgia DUI laws, get the answers in Clayton County DUI injury attorney Shane Smith's book, I Was Hit By a Drunk Driver: What Do I Do Next? Contact the Law Offices of Shane Smith to schedule a free legal consultation.