According to statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 2,597 people were killed in United States traffic accidents in December 2010. Of those, 775 deaths involved alcohol-impaired drivers.


Georgia's Driving Under the Influence Laws are complex. Clayton County DUI injury attorney Shane Smith can sort through the intermingled laws that potentially create complications in a DUI case.


Penalties for convicted drunk drivers in Georgia changed effective Jan. 1. One new provision reduced the length of time repeat offenders must wait before reapplying for a driving permit after their licenses are suspended. Repeat DUI offenders must agree to install ignition interlock devices in their cars that require the driver to submit breath samples; the engine will not start if the breath registers higher than a pre-programmed blood alcohol concentration level. Repeat offenders must also participate in treatment programs before they may reapply for driving permits. The waiting time for reapplying was reduced to 120 days for two-time offenders.


Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) is urging Georgia lawmakers to increase penalties for first-time DUI offenders. MADD claims that imposing harsher punishments upon first-time DUI offenders discourages drivers from repeating the offense. MADD is advocating for a bill requiring first-time offenders to install ignition interlock devices. According to MADD, 17 states impose such penalties for first-time offenders.


If you have questions about Georgia DUI laws, get the answers in Clayton County DUI injury attorney Shane Smith's book, I Was Hit By a Drunk Driver: What Do I Do Next? Contact the Law Offices of Shane Smith to schedule a free legal consultation.


Shane Smith
Connect with me
Advocate for the Seriously Injured in Georgia

Contact Us

Before you sign any documents, we urge you to contact our legal team using this short form. We will be in touch within 24 hours to discuss your case.