According to statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 2,597 people were killed in United States traffic accidents in December 2010. Of those, 775 deaths involved alcohol-impaired drivers.
Georgia's Driving Under the Influence Laws are complex. Clayton County DUI injury attorney Shane Smith can sort through the intermingled laws that potentially create complications in a DUI case.
According to a Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) report 10.3 percent of teens admit to driving after drinking. Though this may seem like a large percentage, in a 1991 study 22.3 percent of teens admitted to drinking and driving. Although this is a significant improvement and an indication of safer roadways, the CDC report indicated that this figure is still a concern. Specifically, the report cited to the high number of teens who admit to drinking alcohol illegally.
Over 2,000 people between 16 and 19 years old are killed each year in auto accidents, many of them alcohol-related. According to a Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities report, approximately 60 percent of teens admit to drinking or trying alcohol before their twelfth birthday.
Georgia's legal blood alcohol concentration limit for underage drinkers is 0.02 percent. This is because it is against the law for someone under 21 to purchase, possess or consume alcohol. Law enforcement officers need only be suspicious that a young driver has consumed alcohol to do a field sobriety test.
If you have questions about Georgia DUI laws, get the answers in Clayton County DUI injury attorney Shane Smith's book, I Was Hit By a Drunk Driver: What Do I Do Next? Contact the Law Offices of Shane Smith to schedule a free legal consultation.