According to statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 2,597 people were killed in United States traffic accidents in December 2010. Of those, 775 deaths involved alcohol-impaired drivers.

 

Georgia's Driving Under the Influence Laws are complex. Clayton County DUI injury attorney Shane Smith can sort through the intermingled laws that potentially create complications in a DUI case.

 

According to a recent article published in the journal Pediatrics, teenagers and others under the age of 21 are more likely to consume alcohol when in the presence of someone in their peer group who is drinking. Despite this, the article asserted that parents may be able to prevent their children from being influenced by alcohol-drinking peers.

 

The article published in the American Academy of Pediatrics' journal claimed that teens are four times more likely to develop alcohol abuse problems when they consume their first alcoholic beverage before their fifteenth birthday. Parents who restrict their children's access to alcohol increase the chances that they will not consume alcohol at an early age. Teens may consume their first alcoholic beverage earlier when they have an underage peer who drinks or when they have access to alcohol from a family member.

 

The legal blood alcohol concentration limit for underage drinkers is 0.02 percent. This is because it is against the law for someone under 21 to purchase, possess or consume alcohol. Law enforcement officers need only be suspicious that a young driver has consumed alcohol to do a field sobriety test.

 

If you have questions about Georgia DUI laws, get the answers in Clayton County DUI injury attorney Shane Smith's book, I Was Hit By a Drunk Driver: What Do I Do Next? Contact the Law Offices of Shane Smith to schedule a free legal consultation.

Shane Smith
Connect with me
Advocate for the Seriously Injured in Georgia

Contact Us

Before you sign any documents, we urge you to contact our legal team using this short form. We will be in touch within 24 hours to discuss your case.