How do seat belt laws apply to your claim? Your PeachtreeCitypersonal injury lawyer can review the claim and circumstances of the case to advise you properly. Child seat belt laws may differ from those intended for adults.
Georgia Seat Belt Laws for Children
Children age 8 and younger must be restrained in an approved seat belt or booster seat while riding in passenger vehicles. The child must be in a rear seat, unless the vehicle has no back seat. In addition, the booster seat must be installed properly, meet federal regulations and properly fit the child based on his or her height and weight. The only exemptions are if the child is taller than 57 inches or if the child has a medical condition that prevents him or her from being restrained. The doctor must provide written documents attesting to this.
Why You Should Wear a Seat Belt
By not followingGeorgia seat belt laws, you subject yourself to liability issues should you seek compensation for your damages. You may be held partially liable for your injuries because wearing a seat belt can reduce the risk of serious injuries. If you do receive compensation, it is likely to be reduced if you were not wearing a seat belt at the time of the accident.
Of course, wearing a seat belt is also state law. Not wearing a seat belt can result in fines. In Georgia, the fines are $15 for an adult, $25 for a child older than age 8 and $100 for a child under age 5.
Besides the fact that wearing a seat belt is the law, it is also the safe thing to do. Seat Belts are proven to reduce the risk of spine and head injuries greatly. These injuries can cost thousands of dollars and cause disability or paralysis that can last a lifetime.
Contacting a Peachtree City Personal Injury Lawyer
Having a lawyer help you with your car accident claim is especially important if you were not following Georgia seat belt laws. The amount of compensation you receive for your injury claim may be reduced if you were not in compliance with the laws.
If you were involved in a car accident, get the legal help you need to defend your case. The Shane Smith Law has Peachtree City personal injury lawyers who will give your case the attention it deserves. Call them today at (980) 246-2656 and ask about their free booklet, 10 Mistakes That Can Ruin Your Georgia Car Wreck Case