Gwinnett County Dui Victim Accident Attorney Shane Smith Explains State Dui Laws

DUI Accidents in Duluth and Elsewhere in Georgia are More Common Than You Think!

In 2008, according to the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety found that nearly 3 out of 10 (28%) or 416 Gwinnett County DUI Accidents resulted in fatal injuries out of a total of 1,493 total auto accident fatalities for 2008.

Since there are so many Georgia GUI Accident fatalities and this figure is compared to many surrounding states,                 public officials see this as unacceptable. In response to Duluth DUI accidents, the State of Georgia has made it a point to enforce its laws to reduce Gwinnett County DUI accident fatalities. The following laws are just some of their comprehensive set of public safety laws to prevent the next auto accident.

According to O.C.G.A 40-5-55, anyone who operates a motor vehicle in Georgia automatically agrees to take a chemical test to determine their sobriety.

According to O.C.G.A. 40-6-391.3, drivers who are convicted of driving a bus and are legally intoxicated by alcohol or is under the influence of any amount of drugs faces between 1 to 5 years of prison and a fine of $1,000 to $5,000.

O.C.G.A. 40-6-391.2 states that any person who has been convicted of three prior DUI offenses and is now facing a fourth DUI offense, may have their car permanently seized by the State of Georgia if convicted on the fourth charge of DUI.

General penalties for persons convicted of a Duluth DUI Accident include:

  • Fines can range from $1,000 to $5,000
  • Jail time ranging from 10 days to 5 years
  • Community service – from hours to a month or more
  • Mandatory installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
  • License revocation
  • Alcohol education & awareness classes

If you have been involved in a Georgia DUI Accident and want to know your legal rights, call Shane Smith Law at (980) 246-2656 to determine your legal rights. In order to determine what the total amount of damages you have suffered, it is essential to speak with a Gwinnett County DUI accident attorney to make sure you can obtain maximum justice for your injuries and other damages.

Related Posts
  • Fayetteville Injury Lawyer Explains What to Do After a DUI Accident (Part A) Read More
  • What Victims Should Do After a DUI Accident Read More
  • Truck Drivers and Substance Abuse Issues Read More