According to statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 2,597 people were killed in United States traffic accidents in December 2010. Of those, 775 deaths involved alcohol-impaired drivers.
Georgia's Driving Under the Influence Laws are complex. Georgia DUI injury attorney Shane Smith can sort through the intermingled laws that potentially create complications in a DUI case.
According to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Georgia police were surprised by a massive party in a public park that had been advertised in social media. Allegedly, underage drinking led to charges of underage consumption of alcohol.
Police had apparently been unaware of the planned party at a park near Stone Mountain. It was estimated that more than 1,500 people attended, mostly from online advertising using the name #BigAssCookOut. The event was scheduled to begin at 4:20 p.m. on April 20, a popular reference for marijuana users.
Police broke up the party after observing underage drinking and drug use. Additionally, event organizers had not obtained the proper permit for the event or to have a DJ at the park.
Georgia has a zero tolerance law for underage drinking and driving. Though the illegal BAC for drivers over 21 years old is 0.08 percent, drivers under 21 can be charged with DUI with a BAC of 0.02 percent. Teen drivers can be charged with DUI in a minor accident if a chemical test indicates that they have a small amount of alcohol in their system.
If you have questions about Georgia DUI laws, get the answers in Clayton County DUI injury attorney Shane Smith's book, I Was Hit By a Drunk Driver: What Do I Do Next? Contact the Law Offices of Shane Smith to schedule a free legal consultation.